1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Going solo while shooting?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by playak47, Nov 23, 2011.

1. playak47

playak47 Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 4, 2010
    I am fairly new to photography. It seems the only time I end up in interesting places is when I am with friends and family. As it turns out photography can be quite time consuming, at least for me. Trying to get the right settings and composition while everyone is waiting for me can get annoying. lol

FYI: I rather go out with group of friends than go alone.

Long story short do you usually go solo for shooting or while with others? What have you experienced?

2. Luke

Luke Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 30, 2010
    Milwaukee, WI
    Luke
    I do my best shooting solo, when I'm free to take my time and really "look" for shots and get them right. FOr me there's 2 kinds of photography. The regular, everyday kind when people are around and you're taking snaps and "serious photography" where you're really trying to "create" something. Sometimes those 2 intersect briefly (and that's great), but for me it rarely happens.

3. Ray Sachs

Ray Sachs Super Moderator

Apr 17, 2010
    Near Philadephila
    Almost always solo. Except when traveling with my wife, when I SOMETIMES try to be both a photographer and good company at the same time. This is often frustrating for both of us, but I'm not willing to give up either her or photography and I spend enough time with her traveling when I'm not stopping to shoot much that it works out. But in any other situation, its a solo endeavor. I have some good friends, but I was effectively an only kid (my brother and sister are both quite a lot older than me, so I know them well, but they were more like a second set of parents than siblings) and have always had a loner side, and many of my hobbies have been things I can pursue alone. Photography is really good for that. Shooting with other people is just distracting...

-Ray