Godox TT685-o TTL on Oly EM1Mkii

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by PBBob, Nov 12, 2017 at 1:19 AM.

1. PBBob

PBBob New to Mu-43

Saturday
    The Villages FL
    As a flash novice, I have been trying figure out how do something that should be very simple. If done right, I figure in my nearly dark studio, I should get a pretty decent exposure. I do not: It is perhaps 2-3 ev dark.

The setup I tried is a new Godox TT685-o mounted on my EM1Mkii camera on a tripod with the Oly 12-100 F4 lens at 100mm to a target on a white background 6 foot away. From the TT685-o instructions, it seems that all you do is select on the TT685-o: Mode = TTL. I also chose A(uto) for the zoom (it set itself too 100mm zoom) and HSS is Off. The instructions say nothing about setting up the EM1Mkii, so I assume any Mode (M,A,S,P) will work. I tried them all and they all consistently give very close to the same underexposed result.

The attached picture shows more details on the settings.

So what is the secret sauce to get TTL to work on the EM1Mkii?

DSC01203.JPG

2. Reflector

Reflector Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 31, 2013
    That should make it work.. My Flashpoint Mini R2/TT350 is "plug and play" with my E-M5 and E-M1II, but I have heard that sometimes the Godoxs will TTL a little on the underexposed side, does manually dialing an offset and changing the scene make the illumination the same?

3. Repp

Repp Mu-43 All-Pro Subscribing Member

Jan 27, 2011
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Just a simple thing... because this trips me up time to time... are you in E-shutter mode? And is your flash fully forward/seated in the hotshoe? Those 2 happen to me so often you'd think I'd check everytime... but I don't

4. Reflector

Aug 31, 2013
    My Flashpoint Mini works in electronic shutter mode, you'll watch your shutter speed drop to sync with it.

5. Repp

Jan 27, 2011
    Oak Harbor, WA