1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

GM1 and 12-32 for ever together?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by stevedo, Oct 31, 2015.

1. stevedo

stevedo Mu-43 Regular

May 12, 2012
    UK
    Purchased my GM1/12-32 kit at the end of August this year and so far very happy. However, today tried to remove the lens and can't get it to budge. Pushing in the release button and trying to turn the lens results in no movement what so ever. The camera has not been dropped or bashed and before anyone cries operator error I also have an EM5 I've been using for a couple of years without issue and been using cameras since the late 1970's :). So my question is any ideas, short of a hammer and chisel, how I might remove the lens? One reason for getting the GM1 as a complimentary body to the EM5 is that I can interchange the lenses.

The obvious thing to do would be to send it in. However that's not really practical as I'm on a multi-year round the world motorcycle trip, currently in Mexico. I purchased the kit from Amazon.com and had a friend send it to me in Mexico.

Ideas welcome
    cheers
    Steve

2. Replytoken

Replytoken Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 7, 2012
    Puget Sound
    Ken
    One question and one piece of advice. First, when you hold the release lever, will the lens move at all in either direction? And, I would offer a word of caution on applying any serious amount od torque to the lens. A number of folks have posted about their lens barrels coming unglued from their bodies due to glue failure.

Good luck,

--Ken

P.S. Can you slide a piece of paper anywhere between the lens and the mount just to see if they have adhered?

3. stevedo

stevedo Mu-43 Regular

May 12, 2012
    UK

Hi Ken, when pressing the release button and trying to turn the lens in either direction results in no discernible movement of the lens at all. Thanks for the warning on the lens "barrel". I was aware of it and haven't managed, yet, to break it free :)