Give me your thoughts....

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Exposed, Apr 8, 2012.

1. Exposed

Exposed Mu-43 Regular

Apr 13, 2011
    Central Washington State
    Randy dawson
    First, my background is 30+ years as a working pro, but only a year working with :43:. My camera now is the Olympus epl-2 with the 14-42 II MSC. About a year ago, started working on panno's and have sold a few but have not been "real" happy with the sharpness and IQ on the Olympus but like the weight and size of it. My other camera is a Nikon D300 but way to large for the work I do, long extended pack trips on foot into the Cascade Mountain's of Washington State.

So my question is, in a small camera like the epl-2, what would you suggest moving to? Or should I just update the lens? My thoughts were the Nex system, the new Pentax K-01 or maybe one of the new Fuji's.

Thank you for your thoughts.

Randy

2. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    As nice as 14-42 II is it's still a kit lens and the biggest improvement you could see would be updating lens. To get substantially better IQ you need to move to one of the m43 camera with a better sensor (G3, GX1, GH1, GH2 and OM-D), however even if you did that you'd be limited by the kit lens.

Panasonic G2 with P20/1.7
    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/dixeyk/6863721384/" title="Tribbles by dixeyk, on Flickr"> 6863721384_7f98f27825_b. "684" height="1024" alt="Tribbles"></a>

Panasonic G2 with O45/1.8
    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/dixeyk/6897721940/" title="Magnolia by dixeyk, on Flickr"> 6897721940_3bb35289de_b. "1024" height="768" alt="Magnolia"></a>

I'd think looking at the P14/2.5, P20/1.7 and O45/1.8 would all be big upgrades from where you are now.

• Like Like x 2
  3. supermaxv

supermaxv Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 20, 2011
    Try out new glass for your E-PL2 before you dump it for a new system.

4. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX