GH4/GX8 flash recommendation, please

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Lew, Jan 25, 2016.

1. Lew

Lew Mu-43 Regular

Jan 10, 2013
    I'm looking for a flash powerful enough to shoot at f/8 or f/16, iso 200, covers to 20ft out ->AND<- that recycles as fast as I can press the shutter. (I turn auto focus off for this, it uses up too much time). AND I'd like to be able to get the flash off the camera if I can.

Thanks!

2. Generationfourth

Generationfourth Mu-43 Regular

Sep 11, 2015
    I just picked up a Yongnuo 560 IV and 560tx to control it. I'm new to OCF but I had very good results with this combo shooting outside. The only requirement it wouldn't meet is "recycling as fast as one can press the shutter". The Yongnuo's need a solid 3-4 seconds between each shot at 1/1; and about .5 seconds at the lowest setting of 1/128 in my limited experience. Are there even any flashes that can recycle that quickly?

3. Repp

Repp Mu-43 Top Veteran Subscribing Member

Jan 27, 2011
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Not unless you're looking to add external battery packs. So, with the Panasonic FL360L at F16 feels like just under 2 sec recycle time, at F8 feels less than 1 sec maybe 1/2 (up to 5-6 shots, pretty much as fast as I'm pushing the trigger. NOT burst mode). That's on the GX8 with 42.5 and iso 200 flash in TTL mode.

Battery type plays into this a lot. NiMH recycle much faster than normal or lithium batteries, and not all NiMH batteries are created equal.

• Informative Informative x 1
  4. Repp

Jan 27, 2011
    Oak Harbor, WA
    As a correction. I just took a LumoPro LP160 and Cactus V5 triggers. At F16 and 1/4 power setting, I can pretty much fire continuously for 6 shots, but will then see a bit of lag and power dropoff to around 1ish sec after the next few shots. That's manual, so you'll loose TTL. Still, I'm kinda impressed.

5. Lew

Lew Mu-43 Regular

Jan 10, 2013