GH3 vs D700 - Sport Photography

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by HNM43, Feb 23, 2013.

1. HNM43

HNM43 Mu-43 Regular

Oct 7, 2012
    Hello, before people start to burn me, please let me explain.

I am an enthusiasm/occansionally pro photographer (i.e, shoot photography as a passion, and get pay about 8 times a year).

A long time Nikon user, recently convert to M43. Originally I have the D700 and D7000, however I change my D7000 for an OMD, and loving the little Olympus.

With the OMD, I understand that it couldn't really Continue focus as well as the D7000, so I use it mainly my personal passion photography side, it is small, with great IQ and a pleasure to carry and use. I have been mainly using this camera for about 4 months now.

So come to my D700, I have this with 24-70 2.8 and 70-200 2.8 VR2, which I put as side to use to the paid Sport Photography job (mainly during the summer). I recently got the set out (a friend ask if I would be their wedding photography), and realise how heavy the whole thing is.

I haven't used the GH3 so can't say much about, I understand that DSLR are still much better with Continue Focus, just wondering where with my limited used is it worth keep the D700 with the 2 lenses, or is the GH3 good enough to replace the D700 for those occansionally Sport Photography jobs?

Nikon D700 vs Panasonic GH3?
    D700 - Full frame with great Continue Focus
    GH3 - Seem to be much smaller and light

Nikon 24-70 vs Panasonic 12-35?

Nikon 70-200 VR2 vs Panasonic 35-100?

Anyway help, advice would be most appreciated.

2. gcogger

gcogger Mu-43 Veteran

May 25, 2010
    UK
    Graeme
    What kind of sports? I've posted my experience of using the GH3 for motorsports HERE. To sum up, it's workable, but not as easy as with a normal SLR and good lenses.

3. HNM43

HNM43 Mu-43 Regular

Oct 7, 2012
    100 meters sprint (sometime just 60m). Mainly because it is work, there will be certain shoot that I can't really miss out.