GH3, G6 or GX7?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by mrcultureshock, Aug 20, 2013.

1. mrcultureshock

mrcultureshock Mu-43 Rookie

Hello,

I recently gave my trusty Panny LX5 to my brother and since I'm starting from scratch, I'd like to get a camera with interchangeable lenses. Now like many people out there, I thought I should get a camera with a big sensor. But after looking at the DSLR cameras and lenses that Canon and Nikon have to offer, I've concluded that they're just too big and heavy and will attract too much attention.

Since I'll most likely get a mirrorless camera, I was wondering if you all could give me a recommendation on which one to buy. I'm an advanced beginner who's interested in taking photos of landscapes, macro, some sports, and some wildlife. Here's my shortlist:

Panasonic GH3
    Panasonic G6
    Panasonic GX7

I'm leaning toward GH3 at the moment because of the video quality and body construction. But the newer Panny cameras also have excellent specs.

Which camera would you all choose and why?

Many thanks in advance!!

Nicolas

2. Mellow

Mellow Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 27, 2010
    Florida or Idaho
    Tom
    Nicolas,

I guess given what you've written so far the GH3 might be the camera for you, especially if you shoot a lot of video. I'd recommend actually holding one, however, because it's a lot bigger than the other two cameras you mention, especially the GX7. The GX7 would get my vote for "stealthy" shooting.

I assume there's a reason for excluding the Olympus offerings--you do know that Oly and Panny share the same mount and lenses and bodies are completely interchangeable, right?

3. mrcultureshock

Thanks for the reply! Does Olympus have any advantages over Panasonic and vice versa?

4. MingTyhMaa

MingTyhMaa Mu-43 Regular

Jul 20, 2012
    Lafayette, CA
    Ming-Tyh Maa