gh2 vs g3

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by dave, Feb 13, 2012.

1. dave

dave Mu-43 Regular

Jan 30, 2012
    ok so i am very new to the :43: community and i know that the gh2 is suppose to be better than the g3 but my question is, what makes it better? is it features, functions, design? I've been looking but i do not see a huge difference between the two. thanks in advance.

2. mister_roboto

mister_roboto Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 14, 2011
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Dennis
    The G3 is about 1/3 thinner and smaller overall, GH-2 is more expensive (by $100 USD or so depending where you shop around), the GH2 is much better with video (it's a gem for video, and has a mic jack), and the GH2 also has that fantastic over sized sensor to change image ratios without loss.

3. dave

dave Mu-43 Regular

Jan 30, 2012
    so for still images there isn't a whole lot of difference?

4. speltrong

speltrong Mu-43 Veteran

May 8, 2011
    Northern California
    There are some differences in the sensors and in-camera processing. I doubt you'd be able to tell the difference for most shots, but in extreme low-light, I've read that the G3 does slightly better (like 1/3 of a stop - nothing major). The GH2 shoots a bit faster (5fps instead of 4fps for stills) and has better battery life, as well as more manual controls. The ergonomics are also apparently nicer on the hands. As mentioned before, the GH2 is way better for video. You can't buy the GH2 new without a kit lens (AFIAK), but you can buy the G3 w/o one.

The GH3 will also probably be coming out this year. Maybe for Photokina, maybe sooner.

5. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    I bought a G2 rather than a G3 a while back, and the reasons I did apply to the GH2, as well. In addition, the GH2 has benefits the G2 doesn't. (I have a GH2 now, too.)