GH2 Video with Native lenses ?? from a newb...

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by bigkidneys, Feb 6, 2012.

1. bigkidneys

bigkidneys Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 20, 2010
    Pensacola, florida
    Hi all. Complete newb to the gh2 and gonna try my hand at using it for video as I only bought it most for stills. I have the following lenses to use it on it and having looked at the 14-140 in videos (had it for stills last year but wasn't impressed) was not sure if I should purchase it yet. I have the Oly 12/2, Oly 45/1.8, Panaleica 25/1.4, Panny 100-300, and about to buy a Panaleica 45 macro. I want to break into the video but by using the IA function which I gather the camera does the lens focusing for me. Am I correct in that I ca use this feature with all these lenses or just the Panny ones? Any help, insight, pointers to good articles for a newb would be tremendous! Thanks all!

2. bee

bee Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 27, 2012
    I am new to this as well, but my understanding is that autofocus will work with any lens that autofocuses in camera mode, however if the lense is not meant for video the autofocus motor might be loud and get picked up by the mic. I know that panasonic puts HD on the lenses that they consider good for video. Also the panasonic lenses with image stabilization will work in video mode which is a huge plus for handheld.

If you don't know this already the Gh2 is THE 4/3 camera for video, you can hack it to increase detail and all sorts of other cool stuff.
  3. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    sounds like you have enough lenses to make most kinds of video.

Truth be told, autofocus when videoing will probably cause more problems than it solves as it will often focus on the wrong thing.

The conventional approach with video is manual everything, focus, exposure.