GH2 for amateur (hobbyist) wildlife?

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by Bluefrog, Sep 28, 2012.

1. Bluefrog

Bluefrog Mu-43 Rookie

Sep 28, 2012

I'm hoping to garner some opinions before making a leap.....

Bit of background: I've been a keen amateur photographer for about 18 years now and got my first DLSR in 2005 (K-M 7D). Currently I have a Canon 7D, 50D and a range of lenses, mainly using a 400mm f5.6 L for wildlife. I also recently discovered that my phone (Sony Xperia S) can produce excellent close-ups and am really enjoying the process - far more than faffing about with the SLR!

Now, whilst the 7D and 400 5.6 are an excellent combination, it's also a bit of a pain to carry around, needing a tripod and high ISO (1600+) for a lot of the stuff I do in the UK (Derbyshire is NOT known for sunshine! :) ). I get quite a lot of shots I'm happy with but also miss out on a lot of stuff due to lack of mobility with this setup and the inability to change framing, plus a 3.5m minimum focus....

I've got a taste for video too after trying the 7D's out, but that can be a bit tricky with the 400 as well!

I've been considering downsizing for versatility and initially looked at a Fuji X-S1, but then stumbled across some good deals on the GH2. Certainly the handling and controls look very promising, possibly better than the 7D, even!

My current "reach" is effectively 640mm and the 100-300 would of course get me to 600mm WITH stabilisation. I have a pretty steady hand anyway and of course DO realise that shutter speed is still critical for wildlife, although I used to get away with much lower speeds with a 300 f/4 IS I used to own.