1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

GF3 vs GF2 vs something else

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Reversed, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Reversed

Reversed New to Mu-43

Feb 22, 2012
    Hello!

I'm just starting to get into the m4/3 and have been doing tons of research on entry level cameras.

I have decided to get a m4/3 for the size and for the fact that I travel quite a bit and have access to a DSLR if I need one.

I have narrowed it down to either the GF2, GF3, or something like the E-PM1.

I recently came across a deal where I can get a like new GF3 w/ kit lens (most accessories in box, warranty through December, mint condition) and an extra battery for $300.

The cheapest I can get a GF2 is $375 from amazon, and the E-PM1 on amazon is even more expensive at $424.

I am just getting into higher-end (well, higher than point-and-shoot) photography, and I'm really not sure if I would be disappointed later on with the GF3 seeing how I will not have the option of external flash or an EVF.

Is this deal too good to pass up? Any suggestions?

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Yes, you will. If you're thinking now that you'll miss the use of external flash and EVF, then you've already identified enough aspirations to grow in your photography, that this is NOT the camera for you.