1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

GF2? E-PL2? or E-PL3? New to M43

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by NettieNZ, Apr 18, 2012.

1. NettieNZ

NettieNZ Mu-43 Regular

Apr 18, 2012
    NZ
    Hi, I'm new to M43 and I'm just looking to buy my first M43 camera.

Mainly wanting a good camera that that is compact/light and suited to travel but also has good versatility. I'm not really into taking video at all.

I definately fit into the category of compact user moving up as haven't ever owned a DSLR - my current camera is a Canon SX 10IS and I'm just getting a bit frustrated with it's limitations.

I'm in New Zealand and the range here isn't necessarily as good as elsewhere in the world but it would be a lot easier for me to buy something locally.

Reading reviews the camera I probably want is an Olympus E-PL3, but there are also some reasonable deals around on the GF2 or the E-PL2.

An E-PL3 with std 14-42mm lens is selling locally for NZ$930.

However an E-PL2 with EZ14–42mm Lens and 40-150mm 2 lens kit is selling for $699

or a GF2 with 14-42/3.5-5.6 OIS Kit is selling for NZ$598

or GF2 14/2.5 kit also for NZ$598

or GF2 + 14/2.5+ 14-42mm kit NZ$898

I'm really interested in people's thoughts on the options, value for money and versatility (it may be a little while until I buy another lens for the camera)

Thanks!

2. xdayv

xdayv Color Blind

Aug 26, 2011
    Tacloban City, Philippines
    Dave
    I think you can't go wrong with any of those combos. The E-PL3 is the 3rd gen of PENs which if you can stretch your budget, I'll recommend getting this. However the E-PL2 is a much loved camera here in this forum. The GF2 is also nice.

• Like Like x 1
  3. songs2001

songs2001 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 8, 2011
    EPL2 has a built in flash and will allow you to buy the 40-150. If you come from a Superzoom, the EPL3 might be limiting if you only use the kit lens.