GF1 will not take close up photos!

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by GE90, Jun 14, 2010.

1. GE90

GE90 New to Mu-43

Jun 14, 2010
    Right, being a complete novice I am probably missing something here, but when taking close up photos (in Intel Auto), the camera sometime will not take the photo! Press the button and nothing!

Any ideas?

Thanks

2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

Welcome GE90, and I'm sure help is on the way! It's probably something to do with the automatic setting you're using. It may be limiting the focus via the aperture and shutter speed it is choosing for you. That said, let's see what some fine Panasonic shooters have to say. Hang on!

3. photoSmart42

photoSmart42 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 12, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    There could be lots of reasons why the camera won't let you take a photo in iA mode. If you're too close and the camera can't focus on the object you want in Macro mode, if you don't have enough light, if the previous photo hasn't finished writing to your card, etc., etc. Without more details on what you're trying to photograph and your setup it's difficult to say what could be the reason.

When you shoot in iA mode you're at the mercy of some software programmer who made those decisions for you years ago. It's best to start weening yourself off iA mode as much as you can so you can start taking control over your photography. Start my just switching to MF, then slowly migrate to the other modes that give you more control - P, A, S, and M.

4. rpress

rpress Mu-43 Regular

Jun 11, 2010
    What lens do you have GE90? I have the 20mm/1.7 and it is reluctant to focus close up. It can do it though, just the auto-focus tends to focus on the background.

The best option for macro is to use the manual focus mode (button AF/AE), and move the camera physically closer or further away until you have reached focus. You can turn the focus ring on the lens depending on how big you want the object to appear.