GF1 Histogram

juno

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
33
Sorry if I'm being a bit dim here but could someone tell me how to use the live histogram on the GF1? I can see how to read the one shown in playback mode but am just baffled by the one in live view.
 

grebeman

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
1,202
Location
South Brent, south Devon (UK)
Real Name
Barrie
I shoot in aperture priority, normally with legacy lenses, so I would set the aperture on the lens, the camera would set a shutter speed, then I dial in an amount of exposure compensation using the thumbwheel (the rear dial, number 11 of my manual, page 12) until the right hand edge of the live histogram is as far to the right as possible without it being squeezed up to the right hand edge of the box that it is contained in, difficult to describe when you can't draw a picture. The manual for the camera shows correct, under and over exposed histograms on page 60. Hope this helps in some way.

Barrie
 

juno

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
33
Ah I get it now. So with adapted lenses the histogram is more true, as in the same as what is shown in playback mode. But with native lenses it changes to yellow when the exposure isn't correct and displays the graph for the correct exposure, not changing as the aperture is changed on the camera.

Shame. So it's not possible to have the histogram show up in the preview?
 

grebeman

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
1,202
Location
South Brent, south Devon (UK)
Real Name
Barrie
Ah I get it now. So with adapted lenses the histogram is more true, as in the same as what is shown in playback mode. But with native lenses it changes to yellow when the exposure isn't correct and displays the graph for the correct exposure, not changing as the aperture is changed on the camera.

Shame. So it's not possible to have the histogram show up in the preview?
It changes to yellow for adapted lenses as well, it changes colour when under or over exposure is dialed in via the rear dial. The only difference when using native lenses is that a further display is shown for the f stop and speed. Adjustment of the histogram to the right or left by exposure compensation is the same for both native and adapted lenses.

Barrie
 

juno

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
33
It changes to yellow for adapted lenses as well, it changes colour when under or over exposure is dialed in via the rear dial. The only difference when using native lenses is that a further display is shown for the f stop and speed. Adjustment of the histogram to the right or left by exposure compensation is the same for both native and adapted lenses.

Barrie

Thanks Barrie, I think I understand now. I've been using manual mode exclusively up until now as I understand the implications of aperture and shutter speed in relation to the shot I will end up with and the shot I want.

The only change I have seen in the histogram is white at correct exposure, or yellow for over/under exposure. The actual graph never changes in manual mode.

So to have the histogram display what I want it to (an appropriate graph for the current settings) I need to use either aperture or shutter priority and use exposure compensation to alter the non priority parameter. Is that correct?
 

grebeman

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
1,202
Location
South Brent, south Devon (UK)
Real Name
Barrie
Thanks Barrie, I think I understand now. I've been using manual mode exclusively up until now as I understand the implications of aperture and shutter speed in relation to the shot I will end up with and the shot I want.

The only change I have seen in the histogram is white at correct exposure, or yellow for over/under exposure. The actual graph never changes in manual mode.

So to have the histogram display what I want it to (an appropriate graph for the current settings) I need to use either aperture or shutter priority and use exposure compensation to alter the non priority parameter. Is that correct?
The graph should move to the right and become bunched up at the right hand side as you over expose, and to the left as you under expose.

Yes, when you dial in exposure compensation the non priority parameter will alter to make the compensation in exposure.

Barrie
 

juno

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
33
Thanks Barrie. Did try googling, probably wan't searching for the right thing.

I have read some articles on that website but not found those two. A good read.

I know what I'm looking for in the histogram regarding correct exposure, it was just confusing me that I couldn't get it to change as I was altering the exposure, and going into play mode to view it there was taking too long.

Thanks for your help.
 

juno

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
33
Also noticed, that if I use single shot mode the preview displays the channel histograms. Guess I've been using the camera all wrong :D
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom