1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Geese In Flight, EM-1 with 50-200 and Focus Tracking

Discussion in 'Nature' started by denniscloutier, Nov 24, 2013.

1. denniscloutier

denniscloutier Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 24, 2011
    Yesterday I went out to fool around with the continuous autofocus with tracking on my new EM-1. I was using the 50-200 mm lens. Generally I was pleasantly surprised. The focus tracking did a good job of locking onto what I wanted it to and tracking it. When the geese were close and heading straight for me the autofocus couldn't seem to keep up, but they do move awfully fast so I'm not terribly surprised. It worked best when the background was fairly uniform, like sky or trees. I have some shots against a background of houses and boats and it pretty consistently wanted to focus on the background, not on the geese.

I started out using my 2x teleconverter, but that wasn't working. It was early morning in winter, so it wasn't all that bright. I'm hoping that I can get it to work in higher light conditions.

The third image isn't sharp, but I think that was motion blur. I was only shooting at 1/200th. But, I think the blur gives a sense of speed which I kind of like.

Overall I had more misses than hits, but given the subject matter, light level, and the fact that this would have been totally impossible on my EM-5, I am pretty pleased. I'm sure my results will improve with more practice.

geese in flight-2. geese in flight-3. geese in flight-4. geese in flight.

• Like Like x 12
  2. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands