G6 - Why do my images always seem a bit dark?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by finerflower, Jul 15, 2014.

1. finerflower

finerflower Amin Fangrrl

Dec 11, 2013
    New Jersey (South)
    It seems that I am always battling the exposure issue. I take a photo, it looks a little dark, the I boost the exposure, it looks better. Then I load it up on my pc and tweak it, then it always seems blown out or desaturated or just not good. Also, sometimes I get an image looking great in lightroom, then I upload it to Flickr or Facebook or sent it to print and its looks too dark??? I am an aspiring amateur at best.

Here is a sample...

Any advice would be so helpful.
  2. broody

broody Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 8, 2013
    You're not alone in this issue, my friend. Here's my two cents on the issue.
    a) It's a rare camera that nails an exposure perfectly. The OM-D EM5 is famous for this, but I own two Lumixes and they both tend to underexpose a bit. I usually set mine to expose at +1/3 EV, and most often this works OK before editing in ACR.

b) Then when you get to the RAW converter, contrast in your picture tends to be destroyed by the default import settings. There's a simple explanation: Your screen only has 8-bit pixels, while the RAW file stores anywhere from 10 to 14 bit per pixel, depending on the camera - you have a lot of latitude in the shadows and highlights, which looks terrible if it's all crammed into a single picture. Here you have to boost the contrast/clarity/vibrance usually, and fix your shadows and highlights to where you wanted them to be.

c) Your eyes/mind are playing tricks on you. After looking at a picture for too long, you get used to the contrast in it, and can no longer easily tell whether it's too dark, too saturated, or has too much of a color cast. Happens to me all the time. Just move on, edit another picture or something, and then take a look again before saving it.