1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

G6 or gx7 !

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by steelerdan69, Sep 27, 2013.

1. steelerdan69

steelerdan69 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 23, 2011
    I'm ready to pull the trigger but can't decide. I'm no pro just want a good camera with all the bell and whistles.

I have a few questions maybe I can then decide what to get.

1. What looks better ?the OLED EVF or the higher number LCD with 100 % RGB on gx7?

2. Is the 1/8000 shutter speed better than the one on g6? Again just a rookie ameatur

3. What does $400.00 more on gx7 gets me that the G6? Besides the tilting EVF or faster shutter speed

One thing that's big for me is the EVF,I hear no so good things about it on the GX7, but I don't wear glasses. I just want the one which is clearer

thanks for any help

2. dougjgreen

dougjgreen Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 5, 2013
    San Diego
    Doug Green
    Mainly, you get a newer sensor (that's probably about 1 stop more sensitive in low light condition) In-body image stabilization - which allows you to have stabilization with lenses that don't have it built in, and a different, probably better, control layout.

IMHO, the 1/8000 shutter speed is a very minor advantage - I went 35+ years photographing action in daylight and not needing a 1/8000 speed. OTOH, the faster flash sync speed on the GX7 could matter if you shoot many moving subjects using flash

As for which viewfinder is better - it's a tough call - the ergonomics are probably different for different people.

3. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011