G5 plus 2 kit zooms a good deal?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by rmcnelly, Apr 7, 2016.

1. rmcnelly

rmcnelly Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 21, 2015
    Portsmouth, VA
    A friend had considered down sizing from her Canon Rebel, and found someone selling the Panasonic G5 with the 14-42, 45-150 lenses, an aftermarket flash and camera bag for $300.

Sounds like a good deal but I have no experience with these and am asking for advice for her.

Sent from my iPhone using Mu-43 mobile app

2. kingduct

kingduct Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 12, 2013
    I bought the G5 with those two lenses back in 2013 for $400 new. I still use the camera and haven't yet upgraded, though have thought about it quite a bit.

First, to answer your question: is this a good deal? I wouldn't call it a killer deal unless the flash and bag are quite nice. That said, it isn't a really bad deal either. Just be aware that it is not a camera with the latest and greatest in m4/3 -- it's an older 16mp sensor, has no IBIS, no wifi connections, and the jpegs are not as good as Olympus and recent Panasonic cameras.

The 14-42 zoom, if it's the older one that the camera was sold with (you can tell, because the older one uses 52mm filter thread vs 46mm for the newer 14-42) is kind of a loser. The images are sharp enough, but there are two main flaws: the lens is oversized and the play on the zoom ring is awkward. I sold the lens. The 45-150mm is a good lens for the price.

• Like Like x 1
  3. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Assuming it is the old 14-42, it's worth about $70-80 on ebay. The 45-150 can go for $130-150. So let's call it $200 value worst case for the two lenses. That means you are getting a G5 for $100, which is a pretty decent deal. You'd probably pay close to $375-400 if each item was bought individually on ebay.