1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

G5 or G6? from G1

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by MarkB1, Jun 28, 2015.

1. MarkB1

MarkB1 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 30, 2010
    Australia
    Hi guys. I could do with some expert advice. I've been using the G1 for a few years and looking around here in Oz the G5 and G6 are going reasonably cheap second hand, a few anyway and only lightly used, and I was wondering what those in the know think. I looked at some second hand GH models but I get the impression they are worn out on video, which I don't need anyway, and those that aren't keep their price for the video. I would be using it almost exclusively for macro.

Are the later G5 and G6 really much different to the old G1, or would I just be looking for something different sooner than later?

Which one would you get, if either, and what differences could I expect to see?

Last edited: Jun 28, 2015
  2. grcolts

grcolts Mu-43 Regular

Feb 1, 2010
    Texas
    Gary
    If you can get a good buy on the G6 I would take that one over the G5. However, now with the newer Panasonic G7 out on the market, I would take a serious look at it too.
    I have the G6 and enjoy it a lot. Images taken with it look very nice. The newer G7 sounds like a great upgrade to the G6, especially for its speed.
    GR

3. MarkB1

MarkB1 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 30, 2010
    Australia
    Thanks. I might have a G6 in the pipe. I will look at the G7 but that's probably all I'll do until it becomes available S/H.

The reviews of the G6 have it slightly upgraded on the G5, as far as it matters to me. And it's got to be an upgrade from the G1 so ...

4. PeeBee

PeeBee Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 17, 2012
    UK