G3 over GH2?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by mqavila, May 17, 2011.

1. mqavila

mqavila Mu-43 Regular

All of this talk about the G3 got me thinking... I've had my GH2 for around three months now and am very happy with it. However, there are some things that tend to convince me that I might be better off selling my GH2 and getting the G3 in its stead:

1. I'm just a novice photographer who is more inclined to just point-and-shoot rather than fiddle with manual controls.

2. I'm even less of a videographer, only using video whenever it involves my kids.

3. While neither camera is really "pocketable" in its true sense, I'm seeing that the G3 is actually smaller and lighter than the GH2 - although I understand that if I do decide to still keep my 14-140mm lens (or even my 14-45mm lens for that matter), even the G3 will still be hefty and too large for anonymity.

Do I give up my GH2 for a G3? Or am I just a sucker for new releases? Actually, just to throw it in for good measure, do I even give up M43 completely and go back to a FZ35 superzoom? HELP!

• Like Like x 1
  2. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Canada
    Easiest way to find your answer is what was/is your motivation that you want to accomplish? Then assess how you want/will be able to do this. Is it a question of equipment, situation, or user? Better equipment does not equal quality, the user does for the greater part. A camera, lens, etc will not get you the shot, you will. I may be wrong, but are you feeling overwhelmed by the abilities/features of your GH2? If so, I don't think another similar beast is going to solve your problem.

3. mqavila

mqavila Mu-43 Regular

My motivation for getting the GH2 was to "graduate" from a P&S and get better images than a P&S would be able to.

At this point, I'm not really overwhelmed by the GH2. It's more of, I'm blissfully ignorant of its many features since I use iA more often than not. :)