1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

G3 aperture reading.

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Phil66, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Phil66

Phil66 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2011
    Ello all,

I can get my G3 to display an aperture value of 18 with the kit lens fitted. The kit lens only goes to 5.6.

Can someone please explain.

Thanks

Phil

2. Giant bubble guy

Giant bubble guy Mu-43 Regular

Sep 11, 2011
    Hi Phil,

I'm no expert in the matter, but I think that 5.6 is the largest aperture available at the telephoto end of the kit zoom. The lens can be stopped down (not sure if I have that term right) to a much smaller aperture if desired. 3.5 is the largest aperture available with the kit lens, and only available at the wide end of the zoom range.

Dustin

3. Phil66

Phil66 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2011
    Yes, but the LCD is showing it at 18.

Phil

4. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 4, 2010
    I believe thats the base-aperture at that particular zoom level - you can stop down further than that (22 or 32 are common 'smallest aperture values' - not sure what the kit is capable of).

Cheers,
    Raj.

5. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    Yes, the printing on the lens says "14-42 f/3.5-5.6" that means at it's WIDEST it's f/3.5 when at 14mm and f/5.6 at 42mm. However, the lenses will stop down to I think f/22 at any focal length.

There is no reason at all to be at f/18. In fact, these lenses start to get WORSE after f/8 or f/11.

As I mentioned in the other thread, get out of A mode into P mode, and learn EV first. Also, check out the thread I mentioned in my other posting, and I HIGHLY recommend (as did others) Bryan Peterson's "Understanding Exposure" as a great first photog book.

6. dhazeghi

dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 6, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    Dara
    Large aperture = small f/number.

Small aperture = large f/number.