1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

G2 Lens Distortion

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Tinderbox (UK), Jul 18, 2011.

1. Tinderbox (UK)

Tinderbox (UK) Mu-43 Regular

How affective is the G2 built in lens distortion correction , I was just messing about in my kitchen and i took a couple of photo`s and when i viewed them back on my notebook , I noticed my refrigerator was bulging outwards, so i decided to see if i could correct it in photoshop which i only had to make a slight adjustment, it`s still not perfect.

I have a £45 Nikon L21 compact camera, so i took the same photo of my kitchen and the image is virtuously distortion free to my eyes.

If anybody has any comment on this, i would appreciate any help as i am just a beginner.

I have both pictures below , corrected on the left and un-corrected on the right.

EDIT : I was using the kit 14-42mm lens , at 14mm wide open and the images were jpg not raw.

distortion.

2. Dan Ka

Dan Ka Mu-43 Regular

Jan 11, 2011
    Northeastern Ohio
    Did you use your Coolpix from the same position on the floor? Did your Coolpix picture have the same field of view? I only ask because the Panny @ 14mm has a horizontal field of view of about 63 degrees, and, the Coolpix at its widest is about 47 degrees. So you are getting a wider view from the Panny. Dial the zoom up to about 20mm on the Panny to see if the results are similar to the Coolpix.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Tinderbox (UK)

Yes, I totally agree the the G2 has a much wider view, I had to stand back another four feet to get the same view on the nikon , but is the distortion not supposed to be corrected automatically in jpg images on the G2, If i were to take a portrait photo at 14mm the distortion would be unacceptable, I dont want to have to correct my photo`s in photoshot.