G2 blurry images

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by nickfromlondon, Jan 15, 2012.

1. nickfromlondon

nickfromlondon Mu-43 Regular

Dec 4, 2011
    Good evening everyone,

Firstly sorry for what is going to be a really stupid question! I am a novice photographer and bought the G2 on the advice of this forum (preferring the cheap deal and a mic input to the G3).

Today was my daughter's birthday and we went to a restaurant. Lighting wasn't brilliant but it was by no means dark.

You've guessed it... so many of my images came out blurred. I tried iA mode, sports indoor mode, portraits indoors. Every time my subject moved a milimeter, it blurred the photo terrible.

Asking friends on twitter, I was told that I needed a fast shutter speed to compensate this. However, unless I am totally mistaken, with indoors light, the fastest I can have the shutter is 1/5 with a 3.5 aperture. Any faster and the picture is basically black.

Sadly this is not fast enough to stop the photos blurring. Is there no way I can up the shutter speed and still have good photos?

Please tell me I am missing something very obvious here!

And, if at all possible, what the best settings for indoor photography like this would be (you know, classic family situations...)

Oh and I am using the kit lens...

Thanks so much for your help...

Nick

2. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    You have a few options...
    1) Boost your ISO, at the cost of noise. I don't remember what the max auto-ISO setting is by default, but 1600 is usable for most purposes and even 3200 can be passable for Facebook. RAW helps, if you sit down and take the time to dial in NR by hand in post. (Some review sites like to give stupid advice like "noise beyond ISO 800 hurts quality", but so does having a blurry mess of an image.)
    2) Flash. You'll get crappy flash photos, but at least you'll have photos.