1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Full Frame Vs M43 in Real World Comparisons

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by nightvision, Feb 24, 2012.

1. nightvision

nightvision New to Mu-43

Feb 24, 2012
    Hi, my name is Artis. I am a working nightclub photographer. I recently did a short write-up comparing the M43 system with a very popular full frame camera.

the write-up can be found here.

Nightvision | Full Frame VS. Micro 4/3 in the Nightclub

I was hoping that we could get some other real world comparisons in different situations and perhaps compile them here. I am a new member to this forum, but have been scouring for months and haven't seen a thread for this. If it already exists, please shoot me a link and I apologize. Thanks!

-Artis

• Like Like x 6
  2. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    I think I can tell the difference, but it has more to do with the look of the flash than anything else. With a diffused flash on the 5D, it would be much harder to tell. It goes back to the argument I've made repeatedly. It doesn't matter if one camera is "better" than another. I only matters if a camera is "good enough" for the desired use. In this case, it clearly is. And a GX-1 (or GH2 or OMD) would be even more "good enough" since the new sensors are demonstrably better at high ISO.

But I'm sure the pixel peepers will be out in force to argue the test isn't valid for various reasons.

Now then, I have a few questions: how does one become a nightclub photographer? How do you get paid for the work, and how do the subjects purchase the photographs (or is your customer the nightclub itself?). Finally, how often do you get to go home with the subjects of your work. :biggrin:

3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Good writeup, Artis.