1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Fujifilm X vs Micro 4/3: pro et contra, and why I'm probably switching back to Micro 4/3

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by stratokaster, Jan 25, 2016.

1. stratokaster

stratokaster Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 4, 2011
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Pavel
    I have lots of experience with various Micro 4/3 cameras, but recently I bought a Fujifilm X-E2 kit. I'd like to offer my thoughts about this camera, its kit lens and its pluses and minuses compared to Micro 4/3. This is my first Fujifilm X camera and, frankly speaking, I'm already thinking about switching back to Micro 4/3.

This is how my Fujifilm X-E2 looks (or, to be precise, looked until recently) in all its glory:

DSC00018.

What I like about Fujifilm X-E2:

1. The biggest plus is image quality at higher ISO values. Even at ISO 6400 the images out of the camera are amazingly clean. Yes, I know that Fujifilm's ISO numbers are a bit inflated and that its ISO 6400 is closer (in terms of exposure density) to other cameras at ISO 5000. Still, it's an amazing performance for a crop-sensor camera. Also Fujifilm's X-Trans sensors are basically "ISOless," there is no meaningful difference in terms of image quality between files shot at ISO 3200 and files shot at ISO 200 and pushed by 4EV in PP.

2. I also like Fujifilm's kit zoom. It's made of metal and it's one stop faster than other 18-55mm kit zooms. It's also very sharp at any aperture and focal length... provided everything is right, which is not always the case.