Fuji x100s or om-d?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by marlon671, Jan 10, 2013.

1. marlon671

marlon671 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 10, 2012
    Good Morning folks!

Given the fact that the x100s is not out on the market yet, my research on this camera made me realize its much higher price point than the om-d was something to question. I do know that with the fuji x100s you are stuck with one focal length as it is not interchangeable... with that aside, watching reviews made this camera somewhat desireable.

I currently own the epm1 and i love this fun camera but i feel the need to upgrade as i did liquidate my nikon dslr and accessories to fund for a new camera. This past christmas has been nice to me so i have a couple of visa and bhphoto gift cards from my friends and fiance that i am holding onto. putting aside some cash with it. I was set with upgrading to the om-d as i see nothing but positive reviews on them.

However i am only a hobbyist (street, family party, and occasional portraits photography) and somewhat a minimalist. I find myself shooting my epm1 with the panny 14mm about 98% of the time.

This made me think that the x100s would work ok for me...

So i am torn, I love olympus as i have had 3 pens total and i am very familiar with its layout. I had my mind set on the om-d but ever since the x100s was announced, i am now confused...

If you were stuck in my shoes, what would be the deciding factor? Where should i spend my hard earned money?

oh and i love low light (no flash) photography as well... <BIG factor for me actually....
  2. Bhupinder2002

Bhupinder2002 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Hi ..
    I will give u one simple advice.. A fixed lens camera , doesn't matter what it offers will never able to substitute and ILC .If you wanna have limited photography experience then X100s is an Exellent choice but if ur needs are differ widely then OMD is the way to go. You can pick up X100 for half the price and be happy .
    • Like Like x 2
  3. marlon671