Fuji x100 or E-P3: for BEGINNERS?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Guanyou, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Guanyou

Guanyou New to Mu-43

Aug 31, 2011
    Hi everyone, I'm looking to get a camera that can take quality photos for street photography and trips. I have zero experience in photography so did abit of research on the best cam to buy..think I did enuff research for a thesis paper!

Anyway I have shortlisted Fuji x100 and Oly ep3. In summary, x100 is ex, focus slows but has superb IQ and that VF. ep3 is cheaper, interchangeable lens, lightning fast AF but poor in low light. To me, the most impt thing are the looks of the camera (haha I'm sorry) and the IQ. Both look great, but as for IQ, the x100, at least from various amateur/pro samples I see blows the ep3 away with superior quality (the bokeh in some are just breath-taking).

I was prepared to get the x100 at a cheaper price 2nd hand but after more research, it seems most don't recommend this for someone jus getting into photography due to it's complicated controls.

So what do u pros think? Does that leave me to ep3, or will I be able to grasp the x100?

2. Guanyou

Guanyou New to Mu-43

Aug 31, 2011
    Fuji x100 or ep3: for BEGINNER!

Hi everyone, I'm looking to get a camera that can take quality photos for street photography and trips. I have zero experience in photography so did abit of research on the best cam to buy..think I did enuff research for a thesis paper!

Anyway I have shortlisted Fuji x100 and Oly ep3. In summary, x100 is ex, focus slows but has superb IQ and that VF. ep3 is cheaper, interchangeable lens, lightning fast AF but poor in low light. To me, the most impt thing are the looks of the camera (haha I'm sorry) and the IQ. Both look great, but as for IQ, the x100, at least from various amateur/pro samples I see blows the ep3 away with superior quality (the bokeh in some are just breath-taking).