1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Fuji X-Pro1 Hands on Review

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by veereshai, Mar 14, 2012.

1. veereshai

veereshai Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 12, 2011
    Arlington, VA
    I am really thrilled and lucky that I got a pre-production X-Pro1 with 18mm, 35mm and 60mm lenses and the flash model no (forgot the name as I didn't use it) to test. I am not an expert in terms of evaluating a camera and photographs technically, so this is going to be a user experience review.

Back story:

A friend of mine was posting images from the X-Pro1 on his facebook page. I commented on a couple of them and offered (I was joking) to take it off his hands as he was not happy about certain features when compared to his X100. This happened couple of days back and when I logged into facebook yesterday, I had a message from Mahesh Shantaram. Mahesh is a famous photographer in India, who does subjective documentary photography. More about him here: Mahesh Shantaram / Photographer / Bangalore, India. He asked me if I would be interested in testing out the X-Pro1 and it was a too good an offer to refuse. Mahesh was one of the few photographers who was given a pre-production X-Pro1 to give his views and he has been generous to pass it on to other enthusiasts like me to get a feel of the camera, even before the rest of the world gets it in their hands. So, after exchanging couple of messages, I decided to pick it up from him in the evening. He didn't have it as he had given it to someone else to test it out so I met the other friend and got the camera in my hands.

Initial Impression: