Frustrations with FD -> M43 adapter, aperture stuck?

peripatew

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
37
It doesn't seem that I can change the aperture on my two Canon FD lenses with my Fotodiox adapter. I know it's cheap, but I think I'm doing something wrong.

I've only just received my GH2, and I've never used manual lenses before.

But I can set my 24mm to f/2.0 take a picture, and then go to f/16 and take a picture, and they look identical.

Is there a special way to attach the adapter? Both lenses use the "twist on" collar.

I've fiddled with it for an hour or two, but can't seem to make any progress.

I'm also trying to get a 35-105 f/3.5-5.6 to work, and it's the same.

Thanks for the help, and let me know if I need to provide some more info.

L
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
L, when you say they look the same...
Exposure should look the same but check the Depth of Field in the images, they should not look the same....
Post a few pics if ya can...
Shooter
 

peripatew

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
37
The Shots are identical. I'm using full manual, and only adjusting the aperture ring.

When I put the 24mm lens on the Canon Ae-1 Program that it came with, the little "switch" that would normally close the aperture doesn't seem to do anything either.

Is there a way to see the aperture blades open and close by just holding only the lens?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
7,397
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Real Name
Nic
Are you mounting the lens with the adapter collar in the 'open' position and then rotating it to the 'lock' position? This operates the dof preview lever on the back of the lens.
 

peripatew

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
37
Thanks for the help.

With the zoom, I can set the aperture, then change the lock/open and see the aperture blades move.

I found this post that talks about opening the lens up, but I'm afraid to so this as this the 24mm seems to be rare.
Vivitar 28mm F2 aperture blades - PentaxForums.com

I can now get the zoom to change aperture on camera, so I understand the adapter now. But nothing with the 24mm.

?


I don't see this with the 24mm, no matter what I try.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
7,397
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Real Name
Nic
Sounds like the aperture blades are stuck wide open. I have a 50mm f1.4 SSC with the same problem which I just use for display. It would be a shame as an FD 24/2 would be quite rare.
 

scott

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
332
I've had the same thing happen a couple of times. It's always been a problem with the adapter, not the lens. If the little stick or bolt on the adapter that engages with the aperture control tab on the back of the lens is at the front side of that tab, nothing happens. It needs to be behind it so it can push the tab along its curved slot. A little experimenting with the adapter should show the best way to put it on, if in fact that's the problem in this case.
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
as Scott says

it is a very "fiddly" adapter - if you do not mount it "right" it does not connect to the "lever" that changes the aperture - it can be "hit and miss" - keep trying it slightly different positions until you figure out how it works, (fits) - "they are all, (can be), like that"
 

John007

New to Mu-43
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
4
There is a small pin near the threads, What I did is I put a extension tube and glued it, to enable the pin to reach the metal based of the adapter.. it works on all my M42 lens..

[ame]http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w303/boyanzky/P1010186.jpg[/ame]
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom