Frustrations with FD -> M43 adapter, aperture stuck?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by peripatew, Dec 31, 2010.

1. peripatew

peripatew Mu-43 Regular

Nov 21, 2010
    It doesn't seem that I can change the aperture on my two Canon FD lenses with my Fotodiox adapter. I know it's cheap, but I think I'm doing something wrong.

I've only just received my GH2, and I've never used manual lenses before.

But I can set my 24mm to f/2.0 take a picture, and then go to f/16 and take a picture, and they look identical.

Is there a special way to attach the adapter? Both lenses use the "twist on" collar.

I've fiddled with it for an hour or two, but can't seem to make any progress.

I'm also trying to get a 35-105 f/3.5-5.6 to work, and it's the same.

Thanks for the help, and let me know if I need to provide some more info.

L

2. Streetshooter

Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus

Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    L, when you say they look the same...
    Exposure should look the same but check the Depth of Field in the images, they should not look the same....
    Post a few pics if ya can...
    Shooter

• Like Like x 1
  3. peripatew

peripatew Mu-43 Regular

Nov 21, 2010
    The Shots are identical. I'm using full manual, and only adjusting the aperture ring.

When I put the 24mm lens on the Canon Ae-1 Program that it came with, the little "switch" that would normally close the aperture doesn't seem to do anything either.

Is there a way to see the aperture blades open and close by just holding only the lens?

4. Are you mounting the lens with the adapter collar in the 'open' position and then rotating it to the 'lock' position? This operates the dof preview lever on the back of the lens.

5. peripatew

peripatew Mu-43 Regular

Nov 21, 2010
    Thanks for the help.

With the zoom, I can set the aperture, then change the lock/open and see the aperture blades move.