1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Frustrated hunting for a flash, please help!

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by peripatew, Jan 11, 2013.

1. peripatew

peripatew Mu-43 Regular

Nov 21, 2010
    We've got our third child due in about 2 weeks. We've been wanting a flash for a while, so this seems like a good time.

Hunting around, budget minded people seem to aim at one of the Metz or the Nissin di466. BUT, I'm slightly confused. We've had a flash for an older Nikon, but it was the not-very-adjustable-baby-sized-one. I'd like to step up the flash power and adjustability.

I actually already ordered the di466 from a company through Amazon, but they just emailed saying its out of stock.

I'm to the point where I'm ok paying up to $300. What can you recommend? I'm just a family photographer, but I'm a gear head, so I want to buy something beyond my needs, and learn into it. I primarily use my GH2 for video, so haven't messed with a flash up until now.

My confusion comes from the various Metz models. The 48, 50, and 58. Some say they are for panasonic, but the same model number costs quiet a bit more than the canon model. (The 50 on Amazon is $200ish for canon/nikon, but $350 for Panasonic).

I know that certain models have pros and cons. I'd love fast recharge, flexible options, and off camera shoots (but I don't mind buying some type of adapter if necessary).

I usually buy everything through Amazon, but it's proving to not be helpful in this search. If you recommend something, can you share a link to where it's in stock?

My unborn child THANKS YOU!

2. juangrande

juangrande Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 2, 2012
    COLORADO
    The fl-36r is on amazon refurbished from cameta camera for $149.95 + shipping. Add the cheap diffuser that pops up with it.

3. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob
    Did you try getting the Nissin through Adorama or B&H or on EBay?

4. sokar

sokar Mu-43 Veteran