1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

From standard kit zoom to 14mm f2.5, 25mm f1.8 and 40-150mm lenses

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Vytautas, Jan 29, 2014.

1. Vytautas

Vytautas Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 9, 2013
    Is it a good idea to sell 14-42mm IIR kit lens and migrate to 3 lens setup? I want to decide between selling a 14-42mm kit or 14mm f2.5 prime. The price difference between those two lenses is small so does not help to decide.

I am new to photography and have checked all my pictures done with a kit zoom lens from a couple of months. At home they are mostly 25mm (natural angle of view). During the travels - 14mm (to have more view in a one frame) and 42mm (for zooming). How could my preferences change (your have changed) with more practice? It seems that 12-40mm f2.8 Olympus zoom could be a perfect all in one solution but for me it is expensive. I remember that I really missed a wider angle of view sometimes too...

Now I am thinking how complicated it is to live with three lenses setup:
    1) Panasonic 14 2.5,
    2) new Olympus 25 1.8,
    3) Olympus 40-150.

Swapping regularly 14 2.5 and 40-150 theoretically does not seems to be a very nice thing during the traveling.

In addition to Pana 14, 14-42 kit and 40-140 Oly's I have Hexanon 50mm f1,7, Jupiter 8; 135mm Hexanon f3,2 and Canon FD f3,5 manual lenses.

Thank you for good comments in advance!

2. gsk3

gsk3 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 29, 2012
    Considered the new compact 12- or 14-4_ panasonic and olympus zooms? Not the f/2.8 versions, the compact versions that sell for $350ish new.

Also, I would try taping your kit zoom with some non-residue tape to one setting and try it out for awhile to see if you like using a prime. Takes some getting used to, but the rewards are myriad.

3. bikerhiker

bikerhiker Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 24, 2013
    Canada
    David