1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

From a total novice: native zoom lens recommendations?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by virtualferguson, Apr 29, 2012.

1. virtualferguson

virtualferguson New to Mu-43

Apr 29, 2012
    Hello all!

First: I'm going to apologize in advance for any info I forget to include/tech terms I garble or anything else I do wrong. I'm new and I wanna get better. I'm also sorry if this question gets asked a lot. I did a little bit of browsing and couldn't find it. Please forgive me!

Anyway, on to my question:

I currently own an Olympus EP-1 with the 17mm 2.8 lens (aka this one)

...which I love for day to day stuff, but there's absolutely no zoom. I'm looking for a second lens. My wife and I go birding from time to time and would love to be able to photograph at least one or two of the birds we see.

I'd like something that zooms to make that happen, but not so heavy that I need to lug a tripod around all the time. I know, the serious birders lug around these huge nikon cameras with giant lenses set up on tripods and I surely will sacrifice picture quality with anything less--but that's too much stuff. I love the lightness and portability of my Olympus and I'd rather not veer too far off from that with my next lens. I want to see the birds, not win contests.

I'd also like a lens that works with the interface on my Olympus (autofocus, ability to adjust f stops, etc). I know that's probably a stupid concern. But, like: if I buy this Panasonic lens, for example, will it be "compatible" with my EP-1?

What I don't know is how much of zoom I'd want, but I find a lot of people saying good thing about ones that top out around 100-200mm. Is that right?

As far as price range goes I'm pretty flexible. If it's an amazing lens that's worth saving up for: I'm game. If it's a great lens that should cost twice as much, but doesn't: awesome. I'll gladly take any and all advice.