From 20yr old Nikon to digital - for motorcycle travel?

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by canuckgser, Mar 27, 2013.

1. canuckgser

canuckgser Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 26, 2013
    First post - so go easy on me!

I am coming back into photography after a ~15 year hiatus - I used to shoot a lot of slide film (a mix of landscape and travel photography, plus the usual family record taking) on my Nikon 801. I still have some good AF lenses (180 2.8, 28-80 zoom, 105mm 2.5, 24mm 2.8) and had assumed that I would just get a digital body at some point and move into the digital age. I have some olympus digital point and shoot camera's that I've been using for the last 10 years, but mainly just for 'was here - saw that' type of record keeping.

The problem with my Nikon setup is that it is large and heavy! I find I just don't keep it with me, and it is a burden to carry around. I do most of my photography when traveling, and these days I travel most often by motorcycle - so size and weight are a big factor, as is durability and resistance to vibration/ moisture and dust - although not necessarily any more then a regular travel/ backpacking situation I guess.

Speaking with a another motorbike riding photographer recently, he mentioned the M43 format, and I've been looking into it since. Initially I had assumed that I would naturally purchase a full (35mm film) sized sensor because - hey, I appreciate quality right? that's why I used to shoot 50 and 100 speed fuji film! However, in all honesty, I realize that most of my pictures these days will be viewed on a computer screen anyway and I have been really impressed with photo's that I'm seeing while doing a little research on some of the more compact camera system, in particular the M43.

Initially I had also figured on maybe getting a fixed lens camera like the Canon G15 or something but looking at the M43 systems, it seems like there is a lot to offer for not much more $.