1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Found OLY 14-150 New .. $450.. any good?

Discussion in 'Micro 4/3 News and Rumors' started by MrDoug, Oct 7, 2011.

1. MrDoug

MrDoug Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 5, 2011
    Boise, Idaho
    I was shopping around today in Cam shops in Seattle and found a Olympus 14-150 on Sale for $450 dollars.. is that a good price and a good lens????.. I have been looking for a zoom with longer range and better than my Oly 14-42R kit until something else and FASTER hits the streets.. What is your take? :smile:

2. steve16823

steve16823 Mu-43 Regular

Sep 26, 2011
    Brookfield, IL
    Most people seem to speak pretty highly of it but I have no first hand experience.

As far as price goes, it is selling for $519 at Adorama so $450 is a good price, although local sales tax rates will cut into your savings.

3. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Texas
    • Like Like x 1
  4. MrDoug

MrDoug Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 5, 2011
    Boise, Idaho
  5. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Canada
    Only zoom I carry in my daily bag. Covers a nice range, is compact in comparison to other zooms, and pretty sharp. I paid that price used with a Hoya uv/haze filter. The hood reverse mounts. Good all round shooter.

6. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Texas
  7. MrDoug

MrDoug Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 5, 2011
    Boise, Idaho
  8. Ray Sachs

Ray Sachs Super Moderator

Apr 17, 2010
    Near Philadephila
    Pixel peepers don't love it, but I can't imagine a better travel lens - I've used it extensively on the road. And it's waaay smaller and lighter than anything else with the same focal range. Compare it to the Pany 14-140 and decide which one you'd rather carry around all day - not even close. Not sure about prices though - sounds like a good deal - not sure if it's a great one.

-Ray

9. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Texas
    • Like Like x 1