Focus peaking with Canon FD glass (800mm 5.6)

n3ptune

New to Mu-43
I’m new to the Olympus system and just got the em1 MII. I typically shoot manual focus with Canon glass using focus peaking for wildlife ans wanted to know if there's anyway to keep peaking ON automatically?

It seems that I have to re-enable it every time the camera wakes up from a button that I programmed it too.

Thanks!

macro

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Real Name
Danny
I don't use peaking with the 800mm. Generally I'm using it fairly close within 50 meters and I can see the details in the EVF. Often I find the peaking distracting, but peaking does disappear with the half press of the shutter. I did use it with the 500 F/4.5L for BIF's, but again peaking turns off with a half press.

It would be my biggest complaint with Oly. For BIF's their peaking system is useless using MF legacy lenses if you need to track, while Sony's peaking stays on permanently when tracking a BIF. I prefer Sony's peaking version.

All the best and IMO if you can, just rely on your eyes. Bracket focus forward or backward slightly while using a slow burst.

Danny.

The Grumpy Snapper

Mu-43 Veteran
I don't use peaking with the 800mm. Generally I'm using it fairly close within 50 meters and I can see the details in the EVF. Often I find the peaking distracting, but peaking does disappear with the half press of the shutter. I did use it with the 500 F/4.5L for BIF's, but again peaking turns off with a half press.

It would be my biggest complaint with Oly. For BIF's their peaking system is useless using MF legacy lenses if you need to track, while Sony's peaking stays on permanently when tracking a BIF. I prefer Sony's peaking version.

All the best and IMO if you can, just rely on your eyes. Bracket focus forward or backward slightly while using a slow burst.

Danny.
Same here. Olympus peaking is okay for stationary subjects but for moving birds and mammals give me the Sony version.