1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Focus Peaking not showing up

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by nuclearboy, Mar 8, 2014.

1. nuclearboy

nuclearboy Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 28, 2011
    USA
    I just received a 300mm lens today and I have been playing with it in the house since it was dark when I got home. Anyway, I cannot see any focus peaking information with this lens.

Here is my setup.

E-P5
    Focus peaking activated by red record button.
    New lens - Canon 300mm F4 -L on the same canon to m4/3 adapter I have been using for 2 years.

When I put the lens on and turn on focus peaking, I can see clearly that I can go forward and past the focus range but no peaking shows up.

I swap lenses to my OM 50mm f1.4 lens, do the same test and the focus peaking is very good. No changes to camera.

Turn off, swap lenses, try again at 300mm, no peaking. I can see the image change when I turn on focus peaking but there are no white highlights.

Whats up???

Does focus peaking struggle with long lenses?

Will it work better with more light and longer distances outside? (I will test this tomorrow)

Anyone have experience with focus peaking on 300mm + lenses?

Focus peaking seems to work fine with my Canon 200mm lens.

2. wushumr2

wushumr2 Mu-43 Regular

May 20, 2013
    Did you change the focal length in camera to 300mm? One of the best things about the GX7 is every time you slap on a legacy lens, it asks you to input/adjust the focal length. More light definitely matters; the shape of the object can matter (I know smooth dog fur can throw off my GX7, I'll see the peaking on their eyes but not fur) so try it again and see what happens.

• Like Like x 1
  3. nuclearboy

Jan 28, 2011
    USA
    I did set fl to 300 but this does not seem to affect focus peaking. I also tried with ibis on and off.

4. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010
    South Gippsland, Australia
    Ray, not Oz