1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Flash with Manual Lenses

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by Jakob F., Jul 9, 2011.

1. Jakob F.

Jakob F. Mu-43 Regular

May 18, 2011
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Hi,
    Any quick tips for using flash with adapted lenses? I have a number of adapted lenses that I use with my E-P2 and recently bought a second-hand FL-36 -but I've never used a real flash before, so any quick and dirty tips for setting up camera and flash and lenses to get the most from each, would be greatly appreciated!
    If it's relevant, the lenses are Fuji Fujinon 25/1.4, OM 50/1.4 and OM 85/2 -and I'm going to need the flash for indoor low-light shooting. I've even made myself a genuine DIY bouncer/diffuser, but I can't upload pictures via the mu43 iPhone app :(

Thoughts?

Best regards,
    Jakob
    Jakob

2. I tested my Olympus FL-36 on a GH2 using a Vivitar 28m. I set the flash for auto TTL and the camera for aperture priority. It seemed to work reasonably well with good exposure from about 4 to 15 feet, not adjusting anything but the focus. I posted a bunch of these at https://picasaweb.google.com/homershannon/2011525FlashTests?authkey=Gv1sRgCNTQy8StuP6RhwE with some comments.

That said, I was at an event last night using the Panasonic 14-140 lens in P mode and the same flash. Anything under 5' was terribly over exposed. Guess I haven't fully figured out flash photography yet!

3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Whether using manual lenses or native lenses, you will be able to use the flash with the same full features (ie, Auto, TTL) as long as you are inputting all the correct metering values (ie, Aperture size).