Flash suggestions for GH2

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by sprinke, May 25, 2011.

1. sprinke

sprinke Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 5, 2011
    Pasadena, CA
    Debi
    I'd like to start playing with external flash on/off my GH2. Of course, this means I have to get a flash, but at the same time I'm not an expert.

Right now I'm eyeing the Metz 50.

I'd like to hear suggestions about which external flash(es) you've used with the GH2 (specifically!) and what works/doesn't work.

For example:
    • TTL metering
    • high-speed sync
    • optical slave
    • wireless triggering

Thanks! The various flash specs I've look at are disappointingly vague (x,y,z features supported only on certain bodies).

Edit: as an addendum, could any of these flashes work for water drop photography?

2. jambaj0e

jambaj0e Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 31, 2010
    I have the Metz 50 AF and I love it. In fact, I returned my Metz 44 in order to get the 50. High speed flash and manual zoom is great!

3. sprinke

sprinke Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 5, 2011
    Pasadena, CA
    Debi
    Thanks Joe. Care to expand on what you use it for?

4. Tom Swaman

Tom Swaman Mu-43 Veteran

I use the Panasonic FL-500. This is a good flash that offers a whole lot of coupling advantages when used with the GH2. If you really want to play with off-camera, portable flash, it is very hard to beat Dynalite. FWIMBW, I find that going off-camera or TTL work best and hybrid attempts have you worrying more about the gear than about the photo.

Best regards,
    Tom

5. sprinke

sprinke Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 5, 2011
    Pasadena, CA
    Debi
    Can you elaborate?

And again please?

6. Tom Swaman

Tom Swaman Mu-43 Veteran