1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Flash question from a rookie

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by ojuice1, Jan 28, 2014.

1. ojuice1

ojuice1 Mu-43 Rookie

May 28, 2013
    Hey guys I am a rookie photographer who shoots for fun and learning more and more from this forum. I realize I shoot a lot of parties and although my omd em5 shoots awesome in low light situations, I think I would benefit from a flash. The flash that came w/ the camera is way to harsh and blows out a lot of the pictures.

I was wondering if you guys could direct me on good flash to start off with and maybe provide some tips on flash photography.

2. BigTam

BigTam Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 19, 2012
    Dortmund, Germany
    Ron
    ojuice1, I was in a similar position. I got a Metz 44 (Olympus version). You can use it in two ways: a) on the camera, or b) remote as a slave.

On the camera, I usually point it up and bounce it off the ceiling. It has plenty of power for most rooms. It also has a nifty little white card that sends some of the light direct to the subject for a 'catchlight' in the eyes. It automatically adjusts to the focal length of the lens and the camera controls the exposure and flash duration. Works well.

As a slave, you use the camera's own flash as a trigger. This lets you hold the flash off to the side or anywhere you want to get a particular effect.

It's a pretty big piece of equipment, but it is both cheaper and more powerful than the Oly/Pana flashes.

• Like Like x 1
  3. bikerhiker

bikerhiker Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 24, 2013
    Canada
    David