1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Flash for Micro Four Thirds Camera

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by neek247, Dec 31, 2015.

1. neek247

neek247 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 4, 2015
    Canada
    Ashley
    I was wondering if there is a flash that I could buy for my Panasonic Lumix G7 that work as TTL and not manual and is less then $100 on amazon.ca, is this possible?

2. budeny

budeny Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 4, 2014
    Boulder, CO
    With some luck and patience you can snatch used, no-R, FL36 or FL50 for under $100 - ebay, amazon, buy/sell forum here.

Last edited: Dec 31, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. PakkyT

PakkyT Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 20, 2015
    New England
    As budeny said, you might look into the older Oly flashes used. I use a FL-36 and a FL-50 with my E-M1 now and they work fine.

But if you want new there are several options although I have no first hand experience with any of them. Looking at B&H photo, searching on Panasonic/Olympus TTL compatible and sorting from low to high price there are a few:

Polaroid PL-108AF Flash for Olympus/Panasonic Cameras $48.95
    Vivitar DF-283 Series 1 TTL Flash for Olympus Cameras $49.95
    Bower SFD728 Autofocus TTL Flash for Olympus/Panasonic Cameras $65
    Bolt VS-260OP Compact On-Camera Flash for Olympus/Panasonic Cameras $69.95
    Metz mecablitz 24 AF-1 digital Flash for Olympus, Panasonic, & Leica Cameras $89.99
    Bower SFD926O Power Zoom Flash for Olympus/Panasonic Cameras $99.95

and then they go up in price from there. Of those, a quick scan of the listing and I would likely opt for the Vivtar or either Bower as they all have decent Guide Numbers (flash output rating), use 4 batteries (for faster re-cycling of the flash), and full tilt/swivel heads.

If you instead prefer compactness, then some of the other models might be decent choices although typically trading off some of the traits I just mentioned for smaller size.