1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Flash for GF2?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by timothysoong, Sep 11, 2011.

1. timothysoong

timothysoong Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 10, 2011
    Taipei, Taiwan
    i searched all over panny section and could not find a desirable solution, which caused me to make this thread.

so, I find the built-in flash too small and not effective during daylight shots or on some other conditions. And the main problem is it cannot be swivel for bounce with portrait format..

and fyi, im a total novice in camera stuffs, so I have no idea what other specs of the flashes do, except for bounce, swivel around for different angles of bounce.. I saw the Nissin Di466 but it doesn't swivel for bounce with portrait mode.

So yeah, can someone provide me some good recommendations accordingly to what I'm looking for?

Thanks in advance..

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Any "Four-Thirds" flash will fit and work on your GF-2 with all available features, such as hotshoe mounting, TTL metering, auto shut-down, high-speed sync, etc.

Some examples are the Metz-48, Metz-50, Nissin Di466 (which you found), Olympus FL-36R, Olympus FL-50R, Panasonic DMW-FL360, or Panasonic DMW-FL500. All of those come in Four-Thirds versions, or are made for Four-Thirds exclusively.

There are also ways of using almost any other flash except maybe Sony/Minolta mount (and even then, there are options with those flashes), but I'm sure we would be overloading you with options and forcing you to learn more about how to use your flash in manual mode. So we'll just skip all that for the time being... ;)

3. timothysoong

Aug 10, 2011
    Taipei, Taiwan
    But which one of these examples could be swivel for portrait shots? Cause the Nissin Di466 couldnt..

4. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Every single one I mentioned EXCEPT the Nissin. ;),