1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Flash for dabbling with macro?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Effuse, Sep 28, 2014.

1. Effuse

Effuse Mu-43 Regular

Aug 21, 2014
    BC, Canada
    Hey, I recently picked up a E-M10 and I have been interested in trying out some macro photography, I'm just waiting on my 60mm F2.8 to arrive, But I don't own any flashes, I don't have a lot of money to throw at this, I have a small steady led light (This One), Most of the macro stuff I intend on doing will be tabletop macro photography where I will have decent control over my lighting, But looking around online people seem to recommend the Nissin i40 or the FL-600r, The Nissin caught my eye but is Nissin a reputable company? I'm new to photography in general so I still have much to learn but before looking into flashes I had never even heard of the company, Would the i40 be enough for my needs? would it be overkill? If anyone has any other recommendations it would be greatly appreciated.

2. pellicle

pellicle Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 10, 2010
    Southport, OzTrailEYa
    pellicle
  3. hemuni

hemuni Mu-43 Regular

Jun 18, 2014
    I have a nissin i466 that i got of ebay. It's a little bigger than the i40, but less than half the price. I was very positively surprised with the build quality quality of the i466. It is really well put together and has a nice feel to the materials. Doesn't feel like a cheap flash at all. It works absolutely flawless on both my ep5 and gx7, with full ttl on both camera systems. So at least from my limited experience nissin makes an excellent flash and by the way I am also considering getting an i40.
    The i466 works great of camera in slave mode using the camera flash as master. This setup would probably work great for what your describing, but the advantage of the i40 would be the build in support for remote control and the smaller size.

4. Paul80

Paul80 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 6, 2014
    Hi