1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Flash for beginner with OM-D

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by luiztakei, Mar 5, 2013.

1. luiztakei

luiztakei Mu-43 Regular

Dec 13, 2012
    Luiz
    I bought the Olympus OM-D a few months ago and I have enjoyed it a lot. Being my first camera beyond a point-and-shoot, I am a beginner in photography and would like to learn more about flash.

Can someone suggest me a good+cheap flash to start learning about flash photography?

2. jyc860923

jyc860923 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China
    贾一川
    took a look at your flickr and I think you're doing fine with EM5.

I'm using the mecablitz 44 AF-1 digital and it's worth recommending.

• Like Like x 1
  3. mussomusso

mussomusso Mu-43 Regular

Nov 17, 2012
    Riva Del Garda
    +1 on the Metz 44!

Good value, powerful flash and works perfectly in wireless TTL after the firmware upgrade.

4. hkpzee

hkpzee Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 5, 2011
    Hong Kong
    Patrick
  5. elavon

elavon Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 1, 2012
    Tel Aviv Israel
    Ehud
    Get a cheap Chinese flash like the YongNuo YN460 or YN560 if you want just manual control.
    If you want TTL then a Tumax made sales under Vivitar, Bower, Cactus are very good and cheap. I own one names Bell & Howell they are all the same just with different branding and some front plastic.
    You can get all at Bh or Ebay.
    A very good accessory is a radio remote that sells on ebay for bout 14$.

6. jyc860923

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China
    贾一川
    I'm Chinese, never used a YongNuo because I know it doesn't last.

7. jyc860923

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China
    贾一川
    Hi there can you be more specific about "works perfectly in wireless TTL after the firmware upgrade"? I never found the metz 44 firmware update and haven't been successful with any remote operations.

8. elavon

elavon Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 1, 2012
    Tel Aviv Israel
    Ehud