Flash basics: Olympus flash vs. other manufacturers

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dombi, Nov 6, 2014.

1. dombi

dombi Mu-43 Regular

Oct 30, 2013
    I am quite new to photography (definitely not a pro). I am slowly learning, step by step. I started my M43 purchases with a GX1 and then moved to E-M10. I love this camera.

My next purchase will be an external Flash. I would like learn how to use it, and hopefully to take better pictures with it.

Possibilites are:
    - Metz Mecablitz 64 AF-1
    - Nissin i40
    - Olympus FL-600R

I think the first 2 flashes are M43 compatible. At least some articles say so.

But as far and M43 specific functions, compatibility with M43 cameras, is the Olympus flash better than the other 2?
    Choosing any of the first 2, would I be missing out on any functionality that the Olympus could do?

This is the part that I don't quite understand.
    Could someone help me and explain this?

Thank you!
  2. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

With the i40 you will definitely miss out on wireless TTL commander capabilities - it can only act as a hot shoe or slave unit in TTL mode, not act as a wireless controller for other TTL flashes.

The 64 AF-1 is bigger, but looks good on paper with a GN of 64 and both wireless master and slave.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. dombi

dombi Mu-43 Regular

Oct 30, 2013
    So if if I understand what you saying correctly, the 64 AF-1 is basically fully M43 compatible.
    And it basically works as well with M43 systems as the Olympus flash. Is that correct?
  4. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

It's a pretty new flash, and I have no experience with it. The specs certainly show it to be fully compatible. The other thing that tends to not work is the AF assist lamp - only the FL-600R (DMW-360L) and DMW-580L have m4/3 AF assist lamps and even then, it's just an annoying white LED rather than an IR grid. The Mecablitz certainly has the white LED as well, so maybe AF assist also works?