Flare only happen to Olympus EM-5

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Selwyn.ali, Jul 17, 2012.

1. Selwyn.ali

Selwyn.ali New to Mu-43

Jul 17, 2012
    Hi every one, this is my first time post, hope somebody can help.

i have a question about my olympus omd about the flare that happent

at first i think that my M.zuiko 9-18 is not good enought with flare because there are some purple cross flare when i shot direct to the sun. but when i switch to other lens (i have 20mm, 14mm, 45mm F1.8) same flare with purple/pink color happen to all these lens.

and because i have a EPM1, i try to use epm1 with all of my lens and i try to shot a bright light, the purple cross flare did not happen.

the example are at the attachmen. and the 4th picture is shot with epm1 with 8-19, and the flare is not pronounce.

my question is, is it normal for omd? is there anyone have this experience with flare ? because sometime it is quite annoying with the purple color of the flare

sory for my english, and thanks for reading

Attached Files:

2. gummyrabbit

gummyrabbit Mu-43 Regular

Sep 15, 2010
    Don't point the camera at the sun???
  3. Luckypenguin

Luckypenguin .

Oct 9, 2010
    Brisbane, Australia
    These are some sunflares from my E-M5 which show some colouration. Both were shot using the 9-18mm

For the sake of comparison, these are from my Canon G1X

4. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Interesting - I look forward to someone giving us a good technical explanation for this. I suspect it has something to do with the sensor.
  5. sLorenzi

sLorenzi Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 15, 2010
    I told them not to use a Sony sensor. :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Just kidding please.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Then there's the red dot issues that many E-PL2s have with the non-Sony sensor...:wink:
  7. fredlong

fredlong Just this guy...

Apr 18, 2011
    Massachusetts USA