Fisheye to Rectilinear using Lumix G 8/3.5

akulya

Mu-43 Veteran
Hello,

Firstly, please give credit to our fellow forum member Miles for taking and sharing the first pictures using this lens on this site (here)

I have used photoshop cs3 v.10 for windows, and the excellent (and free!) Panorama Tools plugin, although, I am by no means an expert user of either.

This is a bit of a rough and ready, using a 200K Jpeg as a starting point, but I think it shows a little promise - showcasing the potential to use the fisheye as a UWA prime.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

I have cropped fairly hard, and without really knowing subject distance I cannot make a good guess at what the equivalent focal length might be after correction.

With a raw file, and a more attenuated process (which will come in time) I would expect at the very least a mediocre improvement in FOV. (i.e something like 20mm FF equiv.)

If Miles would like to upload something RAW for the community to experiment with; I am sure there would be some smiling faces

Narnian

Nobody in particular ...
Real Name
Richard Elliott
Thanks! This definitely shows how a limited use lens can be brought into the general use fold. I look forward to the experiments.

Gwendal

Mu-43 Veteran
Thanks Akulya ! Very interesting - this would confirm that indeed the fisheye really is a specialty item...

akulya

Mu-43 Veteran
Oh it's a speciality lens yes,

My thinking was - I will only rarely use a UWA lens, and equally only rarely use a fisheye; but want a high quality lens that has a ~16mm FF FOV, (specifically, one wider than the 9-18 m.zuiko) on those rare occasions I do; will this fisheye fit the bill?

I know the 7-14 is the natural lens of choice, but it is frankly out of my budget, and although I'm not really into miniturisation for the sake of it, the 8mm is lots smaller and more affordable.