1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Fisheye to Rectilinear using Lumix G 8/3.5

Discussion in 'Creative Corner' started by akulya, Sep 22, 2010.

1. akulya

akulya Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 21, 2010
    Hello,

Firstly, please give credit to our fellow forum member Miles for taking and sharing the first pictures using this lens on this site (here)

I have used photoshop cs3 v.10 for windows, and the excellent (and free!) Panorama Tools plugin, although, I am by no means an expert user of either.

This is a bit of a rough and ready, using a 200K Jpeg as a starting point, but I think it shows a little promise - showcasing the potential to use the fisheye as a UWA prime.

5014191529_5fcdd1d681_z.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

I have cropped fairly hard, and without really knowing subject distance I cannot make a good guess at what the equivalent focal length might be after correction.

With a raw file, and a more attenuated process (which will come in time) I would expect at the very least a mediocre improvement in FOV. (i.e something like 20mm FF equiv.)

If Miles would like to upload something RAW for the community to experiment with; I am sure there would be some smiling faces

• Like Like x 2
  2. Narnian

Narnian Nobody in particular ...

Aug 6, 2010
    Richmond, VA
    Richard Elliott
    Thanks! This definitely shows how a limited use lens can be brought into the general use fold. I look forward to the experiments.

3. Gwendal

Gwendal Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 6, 2010
    Thanks Akulya ! Very interesting - this would confirm that indeed the fisheye really is a specialty item...

4. akulya

akulya Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 21, 2010
    Oh it's a speciality lens yes,