1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

First week with the Olympus E-P1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Shinka, Jun 25, 2010.

1. Shinka

Shinka Mu-43 Rookie

Jun 19, 2010
    Lawrence, KS, USA
    Hello everyone. I just got my E-P1 last Saturday and would like to share my experiences.

A little about me. As of last month, I am a semi-professional photographer and self-employed website designer and developer. My own photographic history began with the Sony F707, moved on to the Sony F828, then the a100 DSLR, followed by the a300 and now the a850.

I have had great experience with all of my Sony cameras and am in love with my a850. The full-frame sensor, amazing viewfinder, fantastic ergonomics and superb image-quality make it a photographer's dream. I am heavily invested in the original Minolta AF prime lenses with the 20/2.8, 28/2, 50/1.4, 85/1.4, 135/2.8 and the 35/1.4 on the way. The 50/1.4 is on my camera more than any other lens, and I really enjoy the 'classic' 50mm FOV along with the a850's wonderful viewfinder.

4101429678_95a9601f87_z.jpg

The a850 has a real sense of being a 'photographer's camera'. It's durable, has plenty of external controls, has a good heft to it and the pentaprism shape on the top harkens back to SLRs of old. I can't really imagine much that would take me away from this camera and I plan on keeping it for awhile.

However, the main problem with the camera is that it is a large, heavy, imposing 'professional-looking' camera. Whenever I use it out on the street, or even indoors with family, I really feel like I'm drawing undue attention to myself and making others self-conscious. I wanted a camera that was more 'friendly' to my subjects that felt a little more casual.