First use of my new camera (E-PM2)

Discussion in 'Nature' started by gengo, May 14, 2014.

1. gengo

gengo Mu-43 Regular

May 12, 2014
    So yeah, this is my first camera that has had adjustable anything (besides zoom).

Since I am new to ALL of this, I would greatly appreciate any and all feedback.

The picture with the cat was taken with the ART BKT - so I'm not certain which ART mode that is.

The rest are just me playing in my garden.

It is safe to assume I know almost nothing - so all constructive criticism is greatly appreciated (from composition to camera settings).

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124525285@N05/sets/72157644259134098/

River by Yamabushi Gengo, on Flickr

Baby Grasshopper by Yamabushi Gengo, on Flickr

Near flowers in focus by Yamabushi Gengo, on Flickr

Near flowers NOT in focus by Yamabushi Gengo, on Flickr

Some sort of beetle by Yamabushi Gengo, on Flickr

• Like Like x 5
  2. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    Very nice first shots! It looks like you're already experiencing one of the things this sort of camera can do, and that is shallow depth of field. I'd say one of the best things you can do right off is to learn what effects you can get at different aperture settings. Basically, don't live in auto mode, venture out into A mode and beyond.

Remember, (digital) film is cheap! ;)

•••GX1+LVF-2+Olympus 17mm f/2.8, GF3; Konica FS-1, C35v; various lenses•••

3. gengo

gengo Mu-43 Regular

May 12, 2014
    Thank you kindly.

Yes, I don't remember what my settings were for the cat - but the rest (I think) were in Aperture Priority mode.

4. Cruzan80

Cruzan80 Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    Denver, Co
    Sean Rastsmith