First time astrophotography with 7-14mm 2.8 - tips?

Discussion in 'Astrophotography' started by cyrax83, Dec 8, 2015.

1. cyrax83

cyrax83 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 8, 2014
    Hi,

I wanted to get some tips from you fellow astrophotographers. I've never done astro before but love the pics I've seen for the milky way. I'm from Sydney so light pollution galore so no chance of it happening here.
    I'm travelling to Fiji Islands soon which is less light polluted so very keen to try out the 7-14mm 2.8 for some astroshots.

I understand the general idea - manual mode, tripod, follow the 500 rule (7mm (~14 equiv)), 35 second shutter speed, f/2.8 and ISO 1600 and manual focus on the stars. Is this right?

Other questions are:
    1. How do I know where the milky way is going to be in the sky? Is there an app or something I can use?
    2. How do I avoid my photo getting blown out by environment lights? For example, here are some lights in this astro shot, but the light isn't bright enough to blow out the photo. How is this possible if it was a 20-30 second exposure?
    https://c2.staticflickr.com/8/7443/9064946043_6baed9a0a1_b.jpg

I'm hoping to capture something like this (also taken with 7-14mm @ 2.8) Photos from posts
    - His EXIF data shows 7mm, 25s, f/2.8 and 6400 ISO. Would it not be better to do 35s and perhaps drop the ISO down a little?

Any other tips?

Thanks

Last edited: Dec 8, 2015
  2. Nathanael

Nathanael Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 12, 2015
    It can pay to go a bit shorter than the 500 rule would dictate if you want sharp stars at 100%, since it was originally for film/lower res sensors.

I use Sky Guide for iPhone which is pretty handy. You can check how things will be in the future. Otherwise just show up and shoot.

In your example the foreground light is a bit blown out, I wouldn't be surprised if it's just dim light in person and a 20s exposure works out. Otherwise you can do a separate foreground exposure and mask it in photoshop.