First micro four thirds!

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by col902, Oct 4, 2011.

1. col902

col902 Mu-43 Regular

Oct 4, 2011
    Hello, I am new to the world of micro four thirds, and would like to get my first one. My budget with the kit lens is $450. I answered some questions so that you could help me choose my camera better.

What do you like to shoot?
    nature, stuff on vacations, some sports, just a little though

How much studying do you plan to put into it? Do you want the camera to make the decisions or do you want to learn how to make the decisions for yourself?
    i know about camera settings and stuff, so i want to make my own decisions

What kind of lighting conditions are you normally in when you want to take photos?
    daytime, maybe a little lowlight

Any physical constraints? Is size and weight an issue?
    yes, this is the whole reason for micro 4/3

What are your goals? Do you just want to take better pictures of friends and family? Better landscape photos? Better travel photos? Do you think you will print most of your work or just share it on a social networking site like facebook? If you plan to print, how large of prints do you want to make?
    I would like to take this up as a hobby and get better at photography in general, i wont make large prints

thanks for all help!

• Like Like x 1
  2. nickthetasmaniac

nickthetasmaniac Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 11, 2011
    Haha the most useful "what should I buy" thread I've seen - thanks for doing your homework :wink:

Going on what you've said I'd recommend the Olympus EPL2 with kit lenses (14-42 and 40-150 if you can find the twin-lens kit in your price range...).

Decent sensor, decent lenses, compact, nice build quality, and probably the most 'bang for your buck' in Micro Four Thirds...

3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada